History of the Church of Forgotten Norfolk & More History Under My Nose 63-67/365

I’m embarrassed at the periodic irregularity of this daily post.  Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, life sometimes forces our most cherished priorities to the bottom of the heap.  As much as I love photography, it suffered such a blow recently.  Here with yet another catch up addition, here’s what I’ve been up to when I’ve had time to be up to something!

Driving back past the old Church of Forgotten Norfolk again (from a few posts back), trying to get permission to photograph inside, I spotted a gentleman bicycling past the church.  He seemed to slow down a bit, eyeing the building with reminiscence as he passed by.  This man must know something about this building, to be admiring it as he did.  It turns out this gentlemen Bruce Ebert, did a story for the Virginia Pilot about this very building.  Figure the odds! You can read his article here.  I didn’t take any other photos of the church that day, but directly across from this historic church in disparate need or renovation, saw this tree.  The two seem to be in agreement.

Tree @ The Church Of Forgotten Norfolk

Tree @ The Church Of Forgotten Norfolk

There is a mural that I pass almost daily.  I think to myself.  One day I’m going to photograph that mural.  Well one day I did.

Butterfly On The Wall

Butterfly On The Wall

Something I learned from this photo is a bit about what subjects look better in noon sun verses morning or evening sun.  Texture is not the goal here, which would show up well in morning or evening sun, and harsh shadows are not an issue here, which are often a problem in noon sun, so full noon sun is actually a perfect time for a shot like this.  Just for my own future reference.

The photo above actually led me to some history that was right under my nose.  Inside the building above were some lovely elderly ladies that told me about the building next door.  It was another building that I’v considered photographing.

This use to be an old schoolhouse in the early 1900’s

Portlock Schoolhouse

Portlock Schoolhouse

Schoolhouse plaque

Schoolhouse plaque

From the photos inside, you can see how the building has changed with the times.  It has been in flux recently as well.  An art gallery, and now a meeting place.

Schoolhouse Past

Schoolhouse Past

Much of the original space has been renovated, but they have kept the original floor in a few of the rooms, and two of the original work desks.

Schoolhouse Bench

Schoolhouse Bench

Schoolhouse Benches

Schoolhouse Benches

This is one of the two classrooms that were used in the schoolhouse that’s been converted into a meeting room.  You can still see some remnants of it’s use as a gallery as well.  The floors still hold all the original marks, scrapes and dings from it’s many years of use.

Meeting Room 1

Meeting Room 1

Seeing for the first time again something that I see everyday.  This was a pretty nice find.

Outside Looking In Looking Out

Outside Looking In Looking Out

This entry was posted in photo, photo365, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to History of the Church of Forgotten Norfolk & More History Under My Nose 63-67/365

  1. ElizOF says:

    Great pictures of the church… fascinating story… 🙂

Leave a Comment

