50/365 Woven

It’s wonderful how weak things become stronger when woven together.  …And when those woven weak things are formed to a purpose, they can accomplish just about anything.  Your inability becomes a possibility if you can just be woven together and formed.  Spend your time focusing on the weaver, and less time on your weakness.

woven

woven

There are two things that are different about this photo than any other I’ve posted.  The first is the border.  After doing the charity photo shoot, where I was forced to add borders to certain images, I decided to make it a practice to add border to all portraits, or anything that may one day go in a frame.  I’m still not totally convinced that this is a best practice, but I’m leaning in that direction.  Here’s my primary reasoning.  Most portrait shots are likely destined for a frame.  If my photos are printed edge to edge, there is a good chance that some important part of the image is going to be cropped by the frame.  Adding a border to photos that have a high chance of being put in a frame will lessen the chance that any part of the actual image will be cropped from a frame.

I couldn’t find an application that would do this for me, so I wrote one.  I used Python along with the Python Imaging Library (PIL).  I also have decided to add a simple stamp to the images as well (see the small text on the bottom right).  I’m even less sure this is a good practice, but since I was adding the border around the image, I thought it would be good to sort of sign the image also.

Figuring how to add the border programatically was a bit more challenging than I thought.  The biggest problem came from the fact that some photos I take are cropped from the original, so the dimensions change from image to image.  The key was that though the dimensions change, I keep the same set of aspect ratios for these.  They will either be 4×6, 5×7, 8×10, or 14×11.  The key was to calculate the aspect ratio of the image (x size / y size), and use the aspect ratio to determine what the print size should be.  So if the aspect ratio is 1.25  then I knew the image is going to be printed as an 8×10 (10 / 8 = 1.25).  Once I know what the print size is, I can use that to figure out how many pixels per inch the photo is when printed.   Finally once I know the pixels per inch, I know how many pixels I need for a 1/4 inch border.  That seems like a lot of work for a border.  If there’s an easier way, I haven’t figured it out yet.  If you stumble across this post, and know of a simpler way, please consider sharing.  Thanks

This entry was posted in photo365 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

