24/365 Chasing The Light, But The Light Got Away

I had a plan.  It was a good plan.  We would go to my daughters get together with the mayor of Chesapeake at the city park (very cool by the way), and then head back down the road to photograph in a spot that caught my eye earlier that day.  The event with the mayor started at 6:00pm.  I guessed it would last about an hour or so, which would get us to the spot I wanted to photograph by about 7:45.  I guessed that would be a perfect time to catch the light just right.  Well that was the plan, but by 7:45, I was stuck at Chesapeake City Park, which was nowhere near where I wanted to be, and no way of getting where I needed to be.  I’ll leave the details to your imagination.  Well like the song writer said;

“If you can photograph the thing you love, love the thing you photograph”

With plan ‘A’ shot, I decided to shoot plan ‘B’ below.

At the Bars

At the Bars

Stage Height

Stage Height

Watching The Show

Watching The Show

The jpg compression detracts from this shot in some very significant ways.  Almost gone are the spectators near the bottom center of the shot.  The three of them, mother father and infant son, sat in that spot until the last traces of sun had disappeared behind the trees.  I can make out the white shirt of the mother, but that’s just about it.  The under side of the stage roof to the right was also lightly illuminated by the setting sun as well.  Barely noticeable here.

Light Running Away

Light Running Away

Oh and let’s not forget the Mayor.  Here he is with my two youngest.

The Mayor

The Mayor

 

This entry was posted in photo365 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 24/365 Chasing The Light, But The Light Got Away

  1. ElizOF says:

    These are still quite lovely and your kids are adorable… 🙂

Leave a Comment

